Q & A With Diplomat of the Month: J.R. Blankenship

 

???????????????????????????????What is your favorite thing about the hospitality industry?

I like meeting people from everywhere and all different walks of life.  I love dealing with all aspects of working with people and making their stay fantastic.  To know that I have had a small part of making their travels a good experience makes me smile.

What am I most proud of?

I have been in the hospitality industry 27 years.   Holding numerous different positions has expanded my knowledge base and has allowed me many opportunities, including meeting former President Bill Clinton.

What’s been your most interesting job?

I worked for UGA as the Olympic Housing Coordinator during the 1996 Olympics.  The excitement and energy of creating the housing department to reflect a hotel stay was a great experience.  I loved being on the cutting edge of both the Olympic experience and developing a new product.

Who has had the most impact of my life?

My aunt, Dr. Elise Blankenship.  She has her doctorate in special needs education.  She has made such a difference in so many people’s lives, she’s truly an inspiration.

If you could have another profession for one day, what would it be?

I’d like to be the President of the United States, just to experience the power and decisions that are made in that office.

 

Leave a Reply

